Gluten’s Effects on Your Health

I have done a lot of research over the years, trying to find out what could be done to improve my health. I kept hearing about celiac disease but had never been diagnosed with it so did not pay much attention to gluten. But after eating a raw, organic, vegan diet and regaining my health, I found that eating any foods containing gluten have an immediate detrimental effect on my health. My pain level increases and my energy level decreases.  My digestive problems return, my sleep problems return, and breathing becomes more difficult.  I have recently discovered that many, many autoimmune disorders can be linked to gluten sensitivity.

Here is just a partial list from Celiac.com:
Celiac Disease Research: Associated Diseases and Disorders. Disorders associated with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity include: anemia, arthritis, ataxia, nerve disease, neuropathy, brain damage, attention deficit disorder, autism, bacterial overgrowth, cancer, lymphoma, candida albicans, casein or cow’s milk intolerance, chronic fatigue syndrome, cognitive impairment, Crohn’s disease, depression, diabetes, Down Syndrome, dyspepsia, epilepsy, fibromyalgia, flatulence (gas), gall bladder disease, gastrointestinal bleeding, growth hormone deficiency, heart failure, infertility, impotency, inflammatory bowel disease, intestinal permeability, irritable bowel syndrome, kidney disease, liver disease, malnutrition, migraine headaches, miscarriage, multiple sclerosis, obesity, osteoporosis, osteomalacia, pancreatic disorders, psoriasis, rheumatoid arthritis, sarcoidosis, schizophrenia, scleroderma, Sjogren’s syndrome, skin problems, thrombocytopenic purpura, thyroid disease, and tuberculosis. Celiac com.

One of the blogs I am currently following is The Gluten Doctors. They have some great articles on the effects of gluten on our bodies. You don’t have to have celiac disease to be gluten sensitive. If you have any kind of health problems there is a good chance that gluten, or some other, food sensitivity could be a contributing factor.

Just like organic foods, finding gluten free foods is getting a little easier, but they are still considered “specialty” foods, therefore are not as available and are more expensive.   Maybe I should start a website to sell gluten free, organic products.  What do you think?

This entry was posted in Healthy choices, Storyline and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gluten’s Effects on Your Health

  1. I had no idea! This is terrible. Makes you wonder. How do I find food without it?

    Like

  2. glosue says:

    It is difficult, but not impossible. I buy gluten free crackers and sprouted grain, flourless bread at Kroger. I eat a lot of corn and rice products instead of wheat based. Look for products that are made with rice flour.

    Like

  3. Kyle Anthony H. says:

    I have found an amazing section of gluten free products @’Central Market’ also, they don’t seem to be as costly as some organic specialty places

    Like

Leave a Reply

