Moved In and On the Right Track

Toto and Zeus

Toto and Zeus

It has been a very exciting few weeks.  The house got sold and closed.  I found an apartment that I like.  With the help of my wonderful sons and many great friends I got packed and moved.  Me and the kitties are starting to get settled into our new home.  It is small but very nice and newish.  Toto is not happy with me but adjusting very well, just in a pissy mood.  Zeus was totally freaked out the first few days but after only one full week is starting to relax.  They still jump at all the new noises but will get used to them eventually.  I still jump sometimes myself.  Haha

After getting enough items unpacked to be able to get TO my kitchen and do some basic cooking I am sticking with my commitment to improve my health by changing my eating habits.  The past month, with the stress and turmoil of the selling and moving I have been eating fast food which I know is so bad for my health.  So this week I started organic, gluten free, and vegetarian again.  After only two days I already feel better.  Less bloated, less stressed, and expect to see my energy level increase and my pain level decrease as my body rids itself of all the toxins in the garbage I have been eating.

I hired someone to help me last weekend to get plenty of organic vegetables and fruits purchased and prepped so that I can easily make this transition even in my current health state.  She made a vegetable casserole that I have been wanting to try and all I had to do was put it in the oven.  It was great for dinner the past two nights.  Lunch has been organic salads at work and breakfast is organic granola with organic coconut milk.  I was craving something sweet to snack on at work and in the evenings so I made some raw energy balls last night and they are so good!

Zucchinni squash casserole

Zucchinni squash casserole

Squash, zucchini, and potato casserole (all ingredients are organic):
1  medium size zucchini, thinly sliced in rounds
2  yellow squash, thinly sliced
2  small Yukon gold potatoes, thinly sliced
Olive oil
Rosemary
Thyme
Sea salt
Black pepper
Shredded cheese

Coat 8 x 8 inch glass baking pan with olive oil.  Layer zucchini, squash, and potatoes in pan, seasoning each layer to taste.  Cover with foil and bake in 400 degree oven for 30 – 40 minutes.  Remove foil and sprinkle shredded cheese of your choice on top.  Return to oven for 15 – 20 minutes or until cheese is melted and lightly browned.  Enjoy!

Raw peanut butter energy balls: (all ingredients organic)
1/2 cup peanut butter (I like crunchy, use whatever you like as long as it is organic.  Can use other nut butters as well)
1/2 cup gluten free oats
1/4 cup shredded coconut
1/4 cup raisins
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
Drizzle of agave nectar to taste
Dash of cinnamon if desired

Mix all ingredients in a bowl and refrigerate until firm, approximately one hour.  Once set, form into balls with your hands and store in air tight containers.  Return containers to refrigerator.  I brought one container to work and left one at home.  These are great healthy snacks!

I also made the Apple Cinnamon Detox water that I have seen posted everywhere online, from Facebook to Pinterest.  It has a very mild flavor, almost like just a mild smell rather than taste.  I love it, but then I love apples and cinnamon.  It is so simple, just slice an apple into the bottom of a pitcher.  Drop in a couple cinnamon sticks, fill half way with ice and then water to cover.  Let sit in fridge for at least an hour, I left it overnight.  I have drank nothing but this for the past two days, I brought some to work with me as well.

So that is my lunch hour at work, need to close this out and get back to my job.  I just wanted to bring things up to date.  Thank you to everyone who has helped me get here!

This entry was posted in Storyline and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moved In and On the Right Track

  1. It’s amazing how eliminating a few things from your diet can make you feel so much better! I’m gluten-free as well and try to stick with fresh, whole, non-processed food as much as possible. Your recipes looks great, may have to try the veggie casserole soon!

    Like

    • glosue says:

      Thanks for stopping by and reading my post. I am trying to get back on track after falling off the wagon for two years and ending up back in the pits of pain and fatigue. I will post some more recipes this weekend that I “cooked up” during the week to keep myself away from junk food. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

