Delicious Plant Based Food

I get asked frequently “what do you eat?”  Because I am trying to lose a significant amount of weight, I don’t eat a lot, mostly raw veggies and fruits, with a small amount of nuts.  I have lost 22 pounds, reduced my blood pressure by at least 20 points and my cholesterol by at least 40 points in less than 3 months.  I do eat some cooked foods, generally for dinner.  Here are some of my favorites and I also save a lot of recipes on Pinterest.  There are plant based alternatives for anything and everything you would want, replacements for all your favorite foods including burgers, hot dogs, pulled pork, etc.  So I thought I would share some of my favorites as well as some that my vegan friends rate very highly.  Plant based, whole foods are just as delicious, or more so, than the traditional American diet while saving the planet, the animals, and your health.  I encourage you to give a plant based diet a try, even if just one day a week, or better yet for one full week.

One of my favorite brands of meat alternatives is Gardein.  Here are some of their products that I keep in my freezer. I love their sliders, burgers and strips.

More yummy products here: Gardein foods

One of my go to dinners that is quick, easy, fast and so yummy is to slice zucchini, yellow squash, tomatoes and onions, stack in a baking dish, season with olive oil, rosemary, thyme, turmeric, salt and pepper and top with a good vegan cheese.  Yummy!

Zucchini squash casserole

Another favorite brand for me is Amy’s Kitchen.  I love their vegan options such as black bean enchiladas, black bean tamale, and black eyed pea bowl.

More great Amy’s Kitchen choices here.

This is a drop in the bucket as far as vegan options out there.  It is one of the fastest growing segments of the food industry, both in grocery stores and restaurants.  More and more people are discovering the health benefits of a plant based diet thanks in part to movies like PlantPure Nation and Forks Over Knives.  Those two got me started on this path.  The more I learned about the importance of plant based foods for health, for the planet, and for the animals it became crystal clear to me that this is something worth fighting for.

I will be posting more recipes, meal plans and suggested products to help everyone have a delicious experience with plant based, whole foods eating.  If you have any questions or would like suggestions please ask in the comments below.  And if you have some favorite vegan meals you would like to share please do!  I would be happy to answer any questions or provide any help and support you need to adopt a lifestyle that helps the animals and the planet while promoting improved health and longevity!

This entry was posted in animal advocacy, Healthy choices, Informed choice, joyful living, positive thinking, recipes, self help, Storyline, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

